Great Expectations

I knew the sun would rise blazing red
and the moon would float lazily in the night sky
I knew a gentle Autumn breeze would rustle through the leaves
as they fell drifting fairy-like to and fro
I thought I knew you would arrive home and we would laugh together happily
I thought I knew we would be blissful forever… I thought I knew

Pastel on Handmade Paper

Pastel on Handmade Paper

© Dawn Whitehand 2014

This post is in response to the weekly writing challenge  “Great Expectations” http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_writing_challenge/great-expectations/

5 thoughts on “Great Expectations

  1. Pingback: Beautiful Expectations | litadoolan

  2. Pingback: The it’s-not-chocolate? upside-down pear cake (egg-free) | Mermaid's tresses

  3. Pingback: A Hope from our Long Lost Distant Relations | Wired With Words

Leave a Reply

