A Tritina* Poem

napo2016button1

it was a warm night when we first met
a hazy moon reflecting off the rippling water
a gentle breeze rustling through crispy Autumn leaves

time passed as did the seasons and the leaves
and I wonder in dismay why we met
that night on the pebbles by the water

many years on the river now dry of water
replaced with an increasing torrent of mildewed leaves
a forgotten ode to when we first met

perhaps soon a water deluge will flush away the leaves and the first day we met…

Conte on Handmade Paper

Conte on Handmade Paper

© Dawn Whitehand 2016

*See this link for the definition of a Tritina
Prompt from www.napowrimo.net

5 thoughts on “A Tritina* Poem

  1. Awsome! How it moves from fresh to rotten, how the water runs through all stanzas, how you can feel teh temperature change even though it isn’t mentioned… Can I repost it on my blog through the reblog function WordPress has? It will of course show that it yours, not mine (oh how I wish it was…) :).

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Reblogged this on Unassorted stories and commented:
    On very rare occasions I reblog a poem by a fellow writer. Mainly when I’m especially struck by it. That happened to me this morning. The tritina is a poetic form that’s a bit of a challenge, but that has a powerful effect when well written.

    I love how this one moves from fresh to rotten, how the water runs through all stanzas, how you can feel the temperature change even though that isn’t mentioned…

    I hope you enjoy reading it as much as I did!

    Reblogged with permission.

    Like

  3. Pingback: NaPoWriMo – Day 7 – “The Endless Beauty Of An Authentic Voice” by David Ellis | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

